Office of School Safety holds Stop Bullying Pledge Drive

Screen Shot 2013-11-27 at 12.58.15 PMAlthough National Bullying Prevention Month has ended, efforts to reduce bullying in Baltimore County Public Schools have not. Already, staff in the Office of School Safety has received more than 4,000 student pledges and more than 250 adult pledges.

It is not too late to have students and adults in your school add their names. Contact Dawn Sheldon at dsheldon.bcps.org to order student and adult pledge cards and a template to record the names of those who take the pledge.

Read the November issue of The Guardian to learn more about safety-related topics. Current, as well as previous issues of The Guardian, can be found at http://www.bcps.org/safety/resources.html

STOP BULLYING SPEAK UP – STUDENT PLEDGE
Bullying makes every day hard. It makes people feel isolated, unimportant and afraid to go to school. I have the power to stop bullying by getting involved in a few specific ways. Here is my pledge:
I will speak up – I will take a stand when I see kids humiliating or hurting each other. I will talk about bullying with my friends and the adults in my life, so everyone knows I think it’s wrong.
I will advocate – I will stick up for others who might be in need of my help, and not just my closest friends.
I will be a role model – I will not use my phone or computer to spread rumors or say hateful things, and I won’t ignore it when others are cruel or intimidating.
Stopping bullying begins with me. Taking this pledge can change someone’s life in a meaningful way. I will forward it to my friends and family to help grow a community committed to ending bullying. I will speak up.

From the National Unite Against Bullying Campaign: The End of Bullying Begins with Me

Leave a Reply

