Meet BCPS’ newest board member, Danielle Maduka!

danielle21

After getting sworn in at the county court by Clerk Julie Ensor, Danielle took some time to chat with us about what issues she plans on advocating, what she does in her spare time, and her plans for the future.

Q: How does it feel to be officially sworn in as a board of education member?
A: It feels great, I have been looking forward to it for a long time and the day is finally here. I can’t wait to see what the future has in store for me… I can’t wait to grow. This is just an awesome experience for me.

Q: What policies do you see yourself focusing on or advocating for as a student member?
A: I really want to focus on education equality…I want to focus on student justice and how students get punished based on the things they do. I am still wrapping my mind around all of this and trying to figure out what exactly I am advocating for.

Q: What do you do in your free time?
A: I love reading…I have a favorite book series. It is called the Alice Book Series by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor. It’s a series that I have grown up with and I have grown up with the characters.

Q: What are your future plans?
A: I plan on going into the medical field. I want to be a doctor in emergency medicine.That might change of course but I would love to go to Georgetown or Johns Hopkins because they have great medical programs.

 

Danielle is a rising senior at Western School of Technology in Catonsville.

Leave a Reply

